Tasmanian Song Book - Festival Of Voices

Theatre Royal, Hobart TAS

The Tasmanian Songbook project continues in 2022.

Songwriter, Producer, Instrumentalist and Musical Director Scott Targett returns with top Tasmanian musical talent including

Tom & Nick Wolfe, Glenn Richards, Claire-Anne Taylor, Jed Appleton and Special Guests

The Tasmanian Songbook celebrates the legacy of Tasmanian songs and the contemporary songwriters who continue to shape our history and music culture. The program is co-curated with the local music community and performed by some of Tasmania’s finest musicians and storytellers.

The concert will feature live performances, each song will be introduced to explain the background and why it made it into our ever evolving Songbook.

The Tasmanian Songbook weaves together themes exploring our identity and the country that surrounds us. Highlighting our first storytellers and Aboriginal Tasmanian language and songs, songs of protest and the environment, convicts and legendary tall tales, our island home as haven and the almost-made it’s – bands and songwriters that did not quite make the history books but left an imprint on Tasmania’s song psyche.

You will hear both familiar and forgotten songs. Songs that have been part of our lives spanning over five decades, as well as more recent work from our emerging storytellers.

The Tasmanian Songbook will be performed in Devonport, Launceston and Hobart thanks to support from the Australia Council.

Band: Scott Targett (MD, Keys) Jethro Pickett (guitar) Casey Kostiuk (drums) Tom Wolfe (bass & Vocals)

Vocalists: Glenn Richards (all shows) Nick Wolfe (all shows) Claire-Anne Taylor (all shows) Jed Appleton (all shows) Jean Stafford (all shows) Greely (all shows) Pete Cornelius (Devonport and Launceston) Denni (all shows) Craig Everett (Devonport and Launceston) Dan & Kyle Lizotte (all shows) Theresa Sainty (Hobart)

MC: Helen Shield

Guest musicians Wayne Appleby (all shows) Nelson Tabe (Devonport and Launceston) Mike Lizotte (Devonport) Joe Weller (Devonport) Georgie Smith (Devonport) Chris Bonner (Launceston) Carl Bulow (Launceston) Andrew Sulzberger (Launceston)

$49 - $69